Love the Skin You’re In

With  pregnancy and all the physical changes it brings, I have not been exempt from changes in my skin – along with my hair texture and nails. I’ve had more acne in the last few months than a pubescent teenager! Breakouts, bumps, and the like have made their home on my face! No me gusta!

For the most part my skin has stayed pretty soft – which I’m happy about. My skin is very dry (compliments of my dad – that guy has some serious gatah’ skin!), but it’s always been fairly soft. My face has seen the most changes with my pregnancy, which prompted me to add some new products to my skin care regimen.

As a yeyo-to-be, I couldn’t help but think about my own mom. I remember when I was a child she always smelled really good and used very simple products to take of her skin. Ivory soap, Vaseline, and good old Oil of  Olay were staples in our bathroom growing up. It always seemed so much fancier and fun to use what she used. Most little girls simply just want to be like mommy, and I was no different. *sighing as I travel back down memory lane*

She wore very little make-up and taught my sister and I to do the same. She always said, “wearing too much make up too soon is not good for your skin.” In a way, I guess, she wanted us to know that less was more and that it was okay to let your natural beauty shine. For that, I’m thankful.

Here’s my list of products that are currently in rotation.

Oil of Olay Active Hydrating Beauty Fluid

Like I said – little girls just want to be like their mommies! I used Oil of Olay for years and recently decided to add it back to my inventory. I like it for its moisturizing quality, but very light texture. And it smells great! I’m a sucker for a reliable product that works AND smells good!

Jergens Original Scent Dry Skin Moisturizer

This lotion represents pure nostalgia for me. I remember using this everyday during summers at my grandmother’s house in Miami. The cherry almond scent is to die for! It’s light and refreshing. Best of all, it keeps my dry skin soft and ash-free all day!

Johnson & Johnson Baby Oil Gel with Shea & Cocoa Butter

I bought this product to fight against any potential stretch marks I might get on my belly. This is the perfect item for both the summer and the winter! It works well to help keep those feet and heels ready for sandals and flip flops while providing intense moisture when it’s cold out. It’s a little heavy, but that feeling subsides after a while. Plus, it’s way easier to use than traditional baby oil and that drip! I put a little on my belly after the shower and kiss my dry skin good-bye!

Clean & Clear Deep Action Exfoliating Scrub

I tend to get…what else…dry patches on my cheeks and forehead at times, so I need a good exfoliator to help with that. This has these little micro beads that don’t feel as harsh on the skin as some other exfoliators, like the one by St. Ives. Don’t get me wrong, St. Ives is cheap and it gets the job done! But I wanted to try out another product. I like this one but may try another once it’s finished. It has this all over tingly sensation that you get after you rinse it off, which was exciting at first, but now I’m over it. I use this about once a week so as to not dry my skin out any further.

Carol's Daughter Face Butter

I’ve been using this face butter for about a year now. I really, really like it. I wish it smelled a little more fragrant, but I can appreciate that it’s not overdone. It, too, has an intense moisturizing quality without feeling too heavy. Because I’m using the Oil of Olay daily, I only use this at night and/or after I use the Clean and Clear exfoliator. Overall it’s a great product that lasts a very long time.

So there you have it! This is my line up that helps me love the skin I’m in!

What types of products do you find work best for your skin? Any beauty tips or secrets you want to share? Feel free!

P.S. – I’m in desperate need of a facial! That’s another little just for me thing that I treat myself to when I can. Just thought I’d throw that in there! I’m definitely a spa kinda girl.

Posted on July 28, 2010, in Life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have that same Johnson Baby Oil Gel, I love it…

  2. Well, I too use the baby oil gel in Lavendar. Love it! The Clean and Clear Steam Soft in-shower facial to exfoliate and detoxify my skin. Lastly, St. Ives Renewing Collagen Elastin moisturizer for my face!! Oh wait, I use the Jergens bar soap for my body for the same reason, summers in Miami!!! Wow, you truly are my twin!! Lol

  3. @ Brandi…girl, yes! It is the bomb.com!

    @ Ebony…I might try the in-shower facial!!! Thanks for the tip! And what can I say? I am you and you are me and we are one! Love you bunches!

Leave a Reply

