Yeyo of the Week: Megan

Hi Lovelies!

I’m super excited to finally get this feature up and running here on The Yeyo Diaries! Although the blog is about me, I’ve always intended to create this as a forum for other women to share their “yeyo experiences.” On a regular basis (possibly weekly) I’ll turn the spotlight onto a woman that I know that has children or expecting! I do hope that you enjoy their perspectives and can learn from their advice, as I  hope to!

With that said, I’m SO PROUD to introduce to you our first ever Yeyo of the Week: Megan.

I’ve known Megan (or May, as I affectionately call her!) for almost 15 years…wow…as I typed that I had to pause in disbelief over how long it has been! When we met, she was the best friend of my former step-sister. She and I had a lot in common and our personalities just clicked! Over the years our friendship has grown into a sisterhood. We have one of those relationships where we live literally, like 5 minutes away from each other, but only see each other about once a year. It’s kinda crazy, but it works! LOL

I’ve watched her grow into a lovely young woman, wife, and mother. She’s educated, driven, and ambitious…if you need an accountant: holla!

Since I’ve been pregnant I’ve called upon her many a time for mommy advice! Enjoy her interview.

1)      How long have you been a mom?

I have been a mother for almost 5 years!  Don’t ask where the time went!  The last thing I remember was my oldest learning to roll over!

2)      How many children do you have?

I have 2 beautiful girls!  Tatum, my loving 4 ½ year old.  She’s just like me…very sweet and gives me hugs and kisses all day long!  And Terin, my head strong 2 year old who has been in the terrible 2’s for about a year now.  She gives me hugs and kisses when she feels like and ONLY when she feels like it.  But I’ll take them either way :).

3)      What about motherhood scared you the most during your pregnancy?

I have to honestly say that I was not scared DURING my pregnancies.  I was fortunate enough to be pregnant at the same time as one of my best friends (we were only 3 weeks apart) so if I were ever nervous or anxious about something she was usually going through the same thing and we worked it out together.

4)      What has been your greatest reward or joy from being a mother?

Seeing them grow and learn!  Which is also kind of scary.  One minute they are little babies who cant even hold their head up then the next then you know they are 5 years old saying please, thank you and giving you their opinion on which shoes they want to wear!

5)      Describe what you like the least about motherhood (if anything…and be honest!)?

I would say the thing I like the least is not being about to get up and go.  Like say for instance it’s a Friday night, you get a call from a friend who say “come meet us at XYZ” but your husband already claimed this Friday as his “guys night.” I would love for my response to be “Ok girl, I’m on my way” but then I remember that I have 2 beautiful girls in the bed watching a movie.  It’s bittersweet because I love being home with my family but I am also a recovering party girl lol.

6)      What is the hardest lesson you’ve learned about life since you became a mom?  

To ignore other people, and by other people older mothers who believe they know all there is to know about being a good mother.  Once your baby comes there will be a million that will try and give you advice but at the end of the day you do what works for you.  I’m not a rude person so when women would tell me that I was holding my baby too much or doing something the wrong way I would politely smile and pretend that I was truly considering their comments.  When in reality I didn’t hear a word they said.

7)      What’s the best piece of advice someone has given you about parenting?

Someone once told me to spend as much time with your kids as they want and give them all the attention they want because one day it will be you who wants time and attention and they will not be interested.  So even if I’d been at work for 12 hours and want to get straight in the bed I let my 4 ½ year old talk my ear off and my 2 year old “tickle” me because who knows when the day will come when they will barely look at me when I walk in.  Oh the joys of having daughters lol.

8)      What advice from your own experiences would you give to a new mom or mom-to be?  

Trust in your gut.  God gave women intuition for a reason and I live by it.  If it feels right then I’m sure it is.  Also, don’t be afraid to ask for help.  You don’t have to do it all alone.  Put your husband to work!  They are usually ready and willing but as a new mom I think we tend to think we should be doing everything.

 

Thanks, May!

Posted on September 1, 2010, in Features. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

