Celebrating Me!

Soooo…this weekend will be recorded in the book of my life as one of the best ever! I couldn’t help but write a post to document the experience.

It all started last Friday. I went to the hair salon and got my hair done, which I hadn’t done in 3 months! Whoa! My stylist does great work and I always enjoy myself  when I’m in her chair. I got my eyelashes put on (which I do for special occasions, but now I’m kind of regretting it because I forgot how much they get on my nerves after a while).  The day before I went to the nail shop, so after my hair appointment…my transformation was complete and I was ready for the weekend!

Saturday morning my husband, his mom, and I went to a 3D ultrasound place to get our first glimpses of our little angel! It was such a unique experience to see some of her facial features while she’s still in my tummy. I can’t wait to see her in person! After that we had lunch and went home to relax. I had a dinner date with my girls that I just could not wait to get to!

We got all dolled up and drove down to the OC for an evening full of elegance, class, and style! I chose Mastro’s Steakhouse for dinner and I’m so glad I did. The restaurant embodies class and fine dining with excellent service! The ladies and I had a wonderful time full of laughs and great conversation. Thanks again to all of you!

Me feeling fancy with my baby bump!

We were all smiles after all that yummy food!

Why, thank you!

Sunday morning was my actual birthday and I woke up feeling like a kid on Christmas eve! My husband had the day planned for us and I was so excited to let the festivities begin! He let me know that we’d be staying out overnight and so the first thing we did was pack a bag. Next he took me to breakfast and then we headed north on the 405 Freeway.

We went to The J. Paul Getty Museum in Los Angeles and had a great time! We like to do things like go to museums, so I appreciated that he remembered that and did something a little out of the box. We walked around and took in the beauty that is the Getty and enjoyed its exhibits. After  a while I started to feel like my shoes were going to bust wide open because I could feel my feet starting to swell. Can y0u say, Professor Klump? *hercules!*

View of the LA basin from the Getty

Yes, we're matching. No, it wasn't on purpose!

Exposing the baby to culture!

Next we drove to Manhattan Beach where we checked into the Ayres Hotel. I loved that he tied the hotel into our trip to the museum (even if it wasn’t intentional), considering that Ayres  Hotels are decorated like old European castles with a lot of statues, art, and tapestries. After getting some rest we got dressed for our 7:00pm dinner reservation.

He chose a restaurant that we’d never been to and boy was it a great choice! If you’ve never been to Paul Martin’s American Bistro…go! Their mac & cheese is beyond delicious!!!!! No, for real. I’m not kidding.

Us at dinner...can't wait to eat!

The food tasted as good as it looked!

The next morning we ate breakfast in the hotel and then headed out to see the movie, “The Other Guys.” Hilarious!

We treated ourselves to lattes at Starbucks and then ventured out the mall. After my previous post about lip gloss I’ve been polling my friends on their preferences…and decided to go with MAC Cremesheen Glass in “Over Indulgence.” And I’ll tell you one thing…they named it right, because the price sure was an indulgence! Going from $.99 cents to almost $20 is a big jump…but I had to get my grown woman on and just do it. 😉

MAC Cremesheen Glass

Oh! Annnndddd once again, he went the safe route for my gift with a pair of earrings from Tiffany & Co! I told him a long time ago that he could never go wrong with that little blue bag. I meant it – and he listened! I love my earrings and I love growing my collection all the more now, since I’ll have a little girl to pass these items on to. I can’t wait to expose her to some of the finer things in life that I enjoy (at the appropriate age, of course!).

Aren't these cute? Yeah, I think so, too!

There you have it…my birthday weekend in it’s entirety! My husband out-did himself and if I had to choose the best part overall: it was feeling like his girlfriend again for the first time in a long time. *loveisgrand*

Thanks, babe! Besos!

I enjoyed every minute of it and can’t wait to experience my next one with my little girl in my arms!

With a heart full of love,

TPOG

Posted on September 7, 2010, in The Woman: All about me. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Wow!!!!
    Your boo is awesome!!! I am so happy for you!! I am reading this blog, and wiping the start of tears from my eyes as I read!! Congrats princess!!

Leave a Reply

