Honorary Yeyo of the Week: Ebony

Hello Muffins!

It’s been a few days…okay…a week  – since my last post. But that’s for good reason! My baby shower was this past weekend and I’m just now coming down from the high! Stay tuned for a separate post with pics documenting all of the fun!

Anywho, for this week’s edition of Yeyo of the Week I wanted to do something a little different. The lovely lady I’m going to feature is none other than my one and only sister, Ebony. She doesn’t have any children of her own yet, but I know she’ll make a great mom one day – so I’m crowning her as an Honorary Yeyo of the Week. There’s no interview for me to post, just me sharing my heart about my big sister.

Dear Ebony,

As I sit down to write this I know that I’ll have to keep it relatively brief to keep from ruining my keyboard with a waterfall of tears. When I think about you, it just makes my heart so full! Having spent the weekend with you was one of the best gifts I could have received as I prepare for the arrival of my baby girl. Having the time to talk and laugh, and share in simple things like manicures and hair appointments…made everything so extra special for me. As I was helping you wrap your hair one night, I felt like that there was nothing else in the world I would have rather been doing. I know that seems super dramatic – but it’s true! Having spent so much of our adolescent and adult years apart, I felt like we were making up for lost time.

I still feel that we have so many more moments to catch up on and I truly look forward to every one. I never realized how much of those ‘sisterly’ things we’ve missed out on in the past – and I cherish any moment we get to experience them together. Although I’ve been blessed with a a lot great friends that I consider sisters – there’s nothing like having real siblings. I love the fact that there’s so much of what makes me, me – that I don’t have to explain to you…because you were there to see it happen. Driving down our traditional trip back down memory lane through the streets of San Pedro always brings that point home. There are so many memories and things that only you and I share that other people will never understand, and I hold that bond dear to my heart. As was said on Friday, “ya’ll got a testimony!” LOL

I want you to know that not only do I love you tremendously, but I respect you so much. Our life paths have been different and most certainly not easy for either one of us – but I’ve always admired your strength.  You have weathered so many storms and I love the woman that the Lord is shaping you into. You are a unique and special woman and I’m so proud to call you my sister.

Thank you for being here to share in our special day. It meant the world to me. I can’t wait for the day that I’ll be able to introduce you to your niece for the first time and watch the relationship you and she will develop over the years.

You’re a great big sister, so I know you’ll be a fantastic aunt and mother!

Love & Hugs,

Ms. Am

Then...

Sisters1

...and now

Posted on September 22, 2010, in Features. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. OMG! That was soooooo beautiful!!! Tears 😦

  2. There are no words sister! No words….love you!

  3. Ok!!! now my keyboard is a little pond…that was so beautiful!
    I truly enjoyed Ebony at the shower and was happy to see her Sunday!

  4. That was so beautiful!! Dang it now I’m getting teary eyed!! That was so nice to read Amber 🙂

  5. absolutely beautiful!

  6. I loved this! I hope my little sisters look up to me like this one day! ❤

  7. Absolutely beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

