Maternity Fashion

Early in my pregnancy I wrote a post about how my clothes were starting to betray me as my body began to change. For a while after that, I was still able to fit into most of my pre-pregnancy clothes, but that didn’t last long. After a while, it just started to become too uncomfortable! But I was torn because I didn’t want to buy a whole new wardrobe of short-term pregnancy items. What was a girl to do?

Thankfully, my mother-in-law came to the rescue and saved the day! She took me shopping for maternity clothes and boy am I ever grateful! We got all sorts of tops and dresses (even maternity panties!), and it truly has made a difference in my life (thanks again, Milly!). What I’ve learned and want to warn all of you future yeyos about is that maternity clothes are definitely WORTH the investment!

They are made to fit your changing body and expanding belly! Your regular clothes just won’t get the job done. All that pulling and tugging is for the birds! You might be able to get away with wearing some things for a while. Around my fifth month I bought a couple of cute dresses from Forever 21 in a larger size that were cute and roomy. But at the end of the day…it’s all about clothes made to fit your belly!

I know you’re thinking: “but what about the cost?” I will say that I was blessed and fortunate enough that my mother-in-law took me shopping, but we also shopped for bargains. They sell maternity clothes at JC Penny, Ross, and of course, Motherhood Maternity.

Even if you buy a few pieces at a time, I promise you won’t regret it. I started out with a few pairs of pants to get me through the week and just built from there.  Another plus is that you can wear whatever you buy for the entire duration of your pregnancy, so you don’t have to keep purchasing new things!

Luckily the majority of my pregnancy was over the summer (a cool one, thank the Lord!), so dresses were also the way to go. Now that the season has changed I still need a couple more things like long sleeved shirts, sweaters, closed toe shoes to fit my ever swelling feet, etc. to carry me through the duration of my pregnancy. But it won’t be too much stuff, since we’re counting down the weeks!

Overall, the bottom line is that you want to get up in the morning, get dressed, and be certain that you’ll be comfortable for the rest of the day. And you still get to have style and feel beautiful!

Check out these sites for ideas!

JC Penney

I found their stuff be cute, comfortable, and priced the best!

Motherhood Maternity

Their items are kind of hit and miss. Some stuff is super cute, while other items are kind of frumpy. They’re a little pricey too, but their sale rack makes up for it, if you go at the right time.

A Pea in the Pod

I don’t actually have any items from here because their prices are off the charts! But, I have to be fair and include a balance – especially for you mommy-ballers out there. LOL

Happy Shopping!

TPOG

For visual’s sake, here are some pics of singer Alicia Keys. She was only one month ahead of me, as she just had her baby the other day…I forget the date exactly. As a celebrity she spent most of her pregnancy trying to hide or minimize it, but these were some of her cutest looks to me.

I loved this maxi dress!

A more formal look

Cute jumper!

I couldn't even hate on her in this 2 piece!

Posted on October 20, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

