Sittin’ Up in My Room

Today was my first official day of maternity leave. I decided to take leave four weeks before my due date for several reasons. Number one, I was tired of driving to work everyday – the distance was really starting to wear on me and I figured I just really needed the rest. I wrestled with when would be the best time go out on leave for weeks, and finally decided upon last Friday. My doctor said any day after today would be fine…so here I am, sittin’ up in my room, like Brandy.

The day just felt like any typical day off from work. I intentionally didn’t leave the house. My greatest accomplishment was washing my hair. I think it will hit me later on this week that I won’t actually be going back to work for a few more months! Tomorrow I’ll head out and run some quick errands. I think by Friday I may be bored out of my mind…but we’ll see. If that happens, I’ll definitely keep reminding myself how important this quiet time is and how much I need to savor and cherish each day.

Most of the time I feel like the baby is going to come early. Who knows?  The anticipation does start to get to you after a while. Some days I feel like this pre-baby checklist of things to do is never ending! You spend so much time – basically the entire 9 months thinking about how to prepare for the baby’s arrival. Doctor visits, vitamins, diet, exercise, registries…the tasks go on and on!  Now in these final stages, I’m still feeling like there’s so much left to do.

I plan to write a final list of t0-dos for this week, like packing my hospital bag, washing clothes, clean out my car, etc. Man! This is a job in and of itself! I just want to get it all done and feel like we’re ready – and I don’t just yet. I’ll slowly keep working at it, though.

Anyway, those are just some of the things I’m thinking about right now.

Until next time,

TPOG

Posted on November 1, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

