Never Knew I Needed

The other day I posted about how my husband bought me a copy of Disney’s “The Princess and the Frog.” I just finished watching the DVD and thus, I have a fresh batch of the warm and fuzzies! Don’t you just love, love? I do. Even if it’s in an animated movie. But more than that, I LOVE that the very first Disney movie I’ll get to show my little girl will be that featuring a Black princess. There’s just something about that fact that does my heart so good!

I grew up watching “The Little Mermaid”, “Beauty and the Beast”, and “The Lion King”. They were all good movies, not to mention the other classics like “Cinderella”, “Snow White”, etc.but this one is just so much more special. We (the Black community) finally had a princess of our very own. Not to mention, she came from a loving two parent home, where she was taught about values and hard work.

I was so inspired by the movie that I used it as a platform for one of my final papers in grad school. E-mail me (see Contact the Princess page for the address) if you’d like to read it! I’m very proud of my work. It’s called “How the Princess got her Frog: Revealing the Invisible Identity of the Educated and Married, Black Woman through Autoethnography.”


Here’s the trailer to the movie and the lead song, entitled “Never Knew I Needed” by Ne-Yo. Enjoy!

The song took a while to grow on me but eventually it did. 🙂 I liked how they incorporated themes from the movie into the video.

Posted on November 22, 2010, in I Dedicate. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I can’t wait to feel like that again! Good post Am!!

Leave a Reply

