A Medical Moment

As a reader of this blog I’m sure you’ve read my thoughts complaints about the not-so-fun side of pregnancy. You’re actually probably tired of reading about them. If so, oh well! I have one more thing to write about. It’s called symphysis pubis.

Yeah, mmm-hmm, that’s the same thing I said when I found out about it…jigga, what?

About two months ago I started feeling this vague pain in my “special place.” Whenever I’d walk or make any kind of strong movements with my legs, this pain would come and go. The best way I could describe it was as a ‘soreness’. As my pregnancy progressed the pain started getting stronger and more frequent, making me more uncomfortable. It also contributed to that oh-so-famous pregnancy waddle I have.

I realized the area that was hurting was my pubic bone, which finally made me feel intelligent enough to talk to my doctor about it. Don’t you hate when you’re like: doctor, something’s wrong or I hurt here…and they look at you like you’re a four your old that doesn’t know how to “use your words?” It’s like explaining to a mechanic what’s wrong with your car. So annoying!

Anyway, when I told him what was going on he just said, “oh that’s normal that you’d feel some pressure in your pelvic area.” Mmmmkkkay….some help he was! Of course you know what I did next. That’s right, I hit the world wide web! to pay a visit to Dr. Google. I searched the words soreness pubic bone and up came thousands of hits describing what’s known as symphsis pubis. Why my doctor couldn’t “use his words” to describe that is beyond me.

Basically, during pregnancy, the ligaments around the joint in your pubic bone start to loosen to help with the baby’s passage. That’s actually a good thing because…well…for obvious reasons. But what happens is that the bones get more movement and interaction than they normally do, causing, what for me, has been an absurd amount of pain and discomfort.

Here’s a good summary provided by whattoexpect.com

There’s nothing I can do about it, which sucks. Every time I stand up, sit down, get out of bed, I feel it. I seriously hopes it goes away the second my baby makes her exit!

 

 

Posted on November 23, 2010, in Life, The Rattle: Everything Baby. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I had the same thing with my third pregnancy, but my pubic bones started to make a popping noise when I walked. It hurt. A lot! That was the day my doctor agreed to induce me! 🙂

  2. @ Pamela…really? Yikes! I’ve only heard a clicking sound once and that was a few weeks ago. Did the pain continue after your baby was born?

Leave a Reply

