I Dedicate: Butterfly

I haven’t dedicated a song to my daughter in a while…so I figured this one would be fitting.I sang this to her today and it brought me to tears. I call her my little flower (among many other things) because everyday she unfolds and flourishes more and more – a beautiful little creature…my butterfly.

 

When you love someone so deeply
They become your life
It’s easy to succumb to overwhelming fears inside
Blindly I imaged I could
Keep you under glass
Now I understand to hold you
I must open my hands
And watch you rise

[Chorus:]
Spread your wings and prepare to fly
For you have become a butterfly
Fly abandonedly into the sun
If you should return to me
We truly were meant to be
So spread your wings and fly
Butterfly

I have learned that beauty
Has to flourish in the light
Wild horses run unbridled
Or their spirit dies
You have given me the courage
To be all that I can
And I truly feel your heart will
Lead you back to me when you’re
Ready to land

[Chorus]

I can’t pretend these tears
Aren’t overflowing steadily
I can’t prevent this hurt from
Almost overtaking me
But I will stand and say goodbye
For you’ll never be mine
Until you know the way it feels to fly

[Chorus]

So flutter through the sky
Butterfly
Spread your wings and fly
Butterfly

Posted on December 17, 2010, in I Dedicate. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

