My New Mommy Must Haves

Now that baby’s been home for a whole month, I took a moment to stop and think about the items that I can’t live without (so far). Read on to find out what I consider to be my lifesavers with a new baby!

1) Baby Pro Bottle Warmer

This thing is a gift from the heavens! With living in a home with stairs, we couldn’t ask for a better product. It makes night time feedings so much easier! It has an ice pack to keep two bottles cold in the back compartment and a holder up front that warms the bottles. We pre-fill the little water flasks on the side before bed and we’re all set to go! It only takes a couple of minutes for the steam to heat up the bottles, which is precious time when you have a hungry baby on your hands in the wee hours of the night and morning. I would definitely recommend this to new moms.

2) Soothie brand pacifier

Having a pacifier is a lifesaver for obvious reasons! I didn’t want to rush to shove one in her mouth at every whimper – and I still try not to do that. Pacifiers (in my opinion) aren’t a cure-all for everything that upsets your baby. They are meant to do what that are called – pacify or soothe the baby at appropriate times (being fussy, drifting to sleep, etc.). My daughter didn’t even take the pacifier until last week (at 3 weeks) and I didn’t try to force it on her. They gave her one in the hospital, but after we got home she rejected it. But now that she will actually take it, it has definitely helped in desperate times!

3) Graco Lovin’  Hugs Swing

We recently purchased this swing and I’m so glad we did! Baby loves it! It’s a great way to take advantage of the moments when she’s in her ‘quiet alert’ state – that is, when she’s awake and simply taking in her surroundings. It has also helped get her to sleep a few times when she was fighting it. I also love that it frees us up to do other things while she can just chill and hang out. Another great investment.

4) Carter’s Safari Friends Playard

This was another great item we registered for. We keep it downstairs so that baby has a place to sleep, instead of us running her back and forth upstairs to put her in her crib. It has an attached changing table and storage compartment. What I really love is that the bottom has an adjustable height, so right now we can use it almost as a bassinet, and drop it lower once she gets older. It’s set on wheels and has a travel bag, but I don’t expect that we’ll ever take it anywhere with us. Overall the convenience is unparalleled!

5) The “Happiest Baby on the Block” by Dr. Harvey Karp

I’ve already mentioned here on TYD about two books that I’ve read that are life changing. One being “The 5 Love Languages” by Gary Chapman and “The Total Money Makeover” by Dave Ramsey. Well, this may very well be the third! We are not even done reading it yet, but already this book has been an incredible blessing to us as parents of a newborn. There’s so much I can say about it, but basically, the author developed a system that’s almost guaranteed to soothe a crying baby. The technique is called The Cuddle Cure using the 5 S’s (swaddle, side, shhhh, swing, suck). We’ve been using The Cuddle Cure and let me tell you: IT WORKS! See for yourself in the video below (click on the book to visit his site). This book is definitely a must have for you or makes a great gift for parents to be.

 

 

What were or are some of your must haves and favorite baby items?

Posted on January 5, 2011, in The Rattle: Everything Baby. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I have the play yard and swing (diff colors) on my registry. The pacies I chose raz because they close when they fall to the floor.

    Great post :o)

  2. Thank You, Thank You for the information. I will definitely take your recommendations to heart. We are registering this weekend, so this will be very helpful.

    • Yay, Ajah! Stay tuned, though because I’m going to do a follow up post on tips for registering. I’ll do my best to get it up by tomorrow so you can read (hopefully) before you guys head out this weekend!

  3. Amber!!!

    That is so cute and I’m sure very helpful for new or expecting mothers. I was thinking she should do reviews online because I would purchase a product based on her review (not just because I know you).

    You are the cutest new mother I’ve ever seen. Sounds like everything is going well and you all are getting acclimated right well. Well, hope to see you all soon. Love you.

    • Yay! Thank you Tanisha! It’s so crazy because I was JUST thinking about you like two days ago. Thank for being the sweet pea that you are and for visiting/leaving a comment on my blog! Come back more often!!!!!!!! Love you lots and lots and lots!

Leave a Reply

