The Great Fall Out

Just when I thought I was out of the woods with my post partum peculiarities a new one pops up. Yay! Not. I had heard and read about this one, but since it’s been almost three months since I had the baby, I thought I had escaped it. Not so! Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been shedding an obscene amount of hair…hence…the great fall out. No me gusta!

I just got my hair cut a couple of weeks ago, so I knew I wasn’t shedding just for shedding sake or because of bad/split ends.

Did I mention how much I LOVE my new cut? Total upgrade!

 

I noticed this week that more and more hair is falling out my head and making it’s new home the teeth of my comb and ultimately the trash can. Tear.

I read on BabyCenter.com that it should subside by the time my baby is one year old? What tha wat???? Grrrr!

But, in an attempt to convince myself of how I’m not that stressed over it I keep saying, “It’s just hair. It’ll grow back.”

TPOG

Posted on February 17, 2011, in The Rattle: Everything Baby, The Woman: All about me. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. I don’t think I had this problem with Moo. However, I am finding that this pregnancy has made my hair a lot dryer and it’s not growing as much as it usually does. So, I’m in search of a great but inexpensive stylist that specializes in natural hair care because I’m not liking this unhealthy look my hair has picked up.

  2. Yeah, that was me, too! Shedding hair and I was like, “Lordy, what is going on?!” I WAS freaking out because when I had my little one I was engaged, not married and we were planning to get married when she was six months old. I did NOT want to be a bald-headed bride! LOL. Luckily, it tapered off around the six-month mark, but to this day I find myself being extra gentle when I comb or brush it. LOL

  3. Yes, this happened to me.. my pregnancy hair was long and luxurious. The topic of conversation.. and then within 2 months.. it was a sad sad situation.

    it will coem back though… it slowed down after 6 months for me. Then I wore protective styles.. and upped my vitamin intake.

    Are you still taking your prenatals? they say that helps a little.

    RO

  4. “What the wat!” LOL Dang, I’m sorry about your hair tho. But like you said , it’ll grow back 🙂

  5. If it makes you feel better…it’s hair that should have shed during your pregnancy. I’m hoping that when I go through the same thing, it makes me feel better. le sigh…

  6. Okay Amber…while I have read and know women who have gone through the same hair loss, I am praying that all this long and thick hair I have grown stays! Girl, I have not had hair like this since high school. Since being pregnant, my hair texture has changed for the better. It is fuller and longer. I just love it!!! But, you are right, it is just hair. I need to start mentally preparing myself right now. Thanks for sharing.

    • Ajah-pooh…you know I love you, right? lol Because I love you I have to tell you the truth – get ready, girl ’cause it’s just temporary. Did you see Ro’s comment above? You’d be right to start preparing for it’s departure now. LOL

  7. I experience hair loss during my pregnancy and upto a year after having my son. I didn’t understand what was going on espcially cause my hair kept falling out after I had him. My hair stylist told me I had to wear braids for a year to get my hair how it was pre-pregnancy. It worked and my hair was longer and heathlier 🙂

  8. Girl, I’mma have to stick it out because braids are not on my ‘to-do’ list! LOL After I took the ones I had in after I had the baby, I swore I wouldn’t get them again for a LONNNNGGGG time! hahaha *we’llsee*

Leave a Reply

