Am I the Only One?

This just happened again over the weekend so I decided to write a post about it. I can’t possibly be the only one whose husband does this! Am I?

Picture this: You and your husband are lounging around watching t.v. and he has the remote. He flips through a few channels and you silently hope he’ll land on something you BOTH can watch (I know, I know…not likely – but you hope anyway).  He stops on a movie that you’ve seen before, so you say, “Eh, we’ve seen this already, so I’m sure he’ll keep going.” But he doesn’t.Even though it’s clearly a movie you’ve both seen a bajillion times before, he puts the remote down and settles in to watch. Really? Again? This just came on, like, a week ago!

If you’re like me, then your husband has this ‘thing’ obession with watching the same movies, over and over and over again EVERY TIME they come on, like he’s never seen them before. He takes you through his favorite scenes and sets them up with, “waiiiitttt foorrr iiitttt!!!!” It’s kind of annoying, but a little cute at the same time.

I put together a list of my love’s favorite movies that he’s guaranteed to watch if it comes on television. Without fail.

Granted, most of these are 80s pop culture classics…but others…well…I told you I was married to a geek, didn’t I? YouthoughtIwasplayin

Please don’t tell me I’m the only one! What are your love’s favorite movies?

Posted on February 21, 2011, in The Ring: Marriage. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. OMG YES!!!! When he has the remote we never watch something that we’ll both enjoy. But when I have it I’m always wondering “would he like to watch this too?” UGH. And he does watch several movies and shows over and over. I silently scream to myself before I go watch the other tv or get on my laptop.

    • I think the same thing when it’s my “turn” LOL. We’re so considerate, aren’t we? Out of all the movies I listed, it’s “Flash Gordon” that kills me the most. Love Queen, but those songs for this movie are just TOO MUCH!!!!!!!! 🙂 Thank the Lord for laptops and Hulu.com!

  2. I must admit that I’m the one who can watch movies over and over and over again. Which ones? Titanic is the first that comes to mind. Also 500 Days of Summer, The Break-Up, The Good Girl, and tons of others. I can’t help it! But when it comes to TV shows, hubby and I are about 90% compatible. Yay!

    • Don’t get me wrong…I definitely have my faves! But I just wouldn’t watch a movie back to back on him like he does with me! LOL That’s great that you both are compatible with your choice in TV shows. We’re at opposing sides of the spectrum: science fiction vs. reality TV, with Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice as the middle ground!!! 🙂

  3. Haha! Too funny. I’m not married, but it has certainly happened to me with past boyfriends. Luckily, I was able to leave and head to my own home. LOL.

  4. OMG, if I see any of those Beverly Hills Cop movies one mo’ gin, I might commit MURDER. It will definitely be justifiable homicide. Will you come to my defense? *lol* Only another wife who has suffered through could possibly understand and defend me with vigor!

  5. Anything with World War II or any war in it! Aghghgh! He is a history buff but some of them are so depressing, I beg him to watch anything else! That is why I always have a book by my side – I seem to never win…

  6. ANYTHING BOND… ANYTHING.

    If its a marathon.l. forget it.

    and anything COP/LAWYER show.

    and most interesting of all

    Anything wresting related. I know. WHAAAAAAAAA?

    at least its not sports/video games. i keep telling myself when I see my friends struggling to get some attention during (insert whatever sports season here)

  7. I’m not married but my long time boyfriend and I share a love for movies. Our first movie was “The Godfather”, I even read the book with him. He is forgetful of EVERYTHING except movie lines, maybe because he watches each about a billion times (he’s a movie nerd) but it is cute =)
    Movies he’ll watch over and over again: Tarantino, Scorsese, and any of the old classic movies.

Leave a Reply

