Welcome Back, Old Friend

Breaking news!

After a long vacation, my old friend (more like foe), Aunt Flo has made her triumph return to her regularly scheduled monthly visits. I was worried for a quick second as to why my cycle hadn’t started since it had been a few months since I had the baby. I read online (of course) that it can take take up to eight weeks or more for your period to start again, even months if you’re breastfeeding. But I was close to 12 weeks and thought that was a little strange. More than anything the thought of getting pregnant again scared the HELL out of me! Sorry, just being honest! Your body is the most fertile right after you give birth…so it wasn’t a stretch. Could you imagine me having two babies within 2 years? I still shudder at the thought!

I went to visit my doctor’s office, even though Dr. Google already told me everything I needed to know to help ease my concerns. I was told by the nurse practitioner that sometimes it just takes a while for the brain to hit the restart button after shutting the ‘period button’ off for so many months during pregnancy. She offered to give me a shot to jump start things, which I politely declined. I didn’t say I missed having a period…I just didn’t want to be pregnant again! I decided to just wait and let nature do its own thing.

So sure enough, after a busy day of running errands today – surprise! Aunt Flo made her return with a quiet entrance. Life as I knew it before pregnancy is almost back in full effect. Almost. I don’t feel 100% like my old self yet…but maybe that’s the point. I’m a new me, now…and I’m learning to embrace all of what that means. Overall, I’m just happy that I’m healthy and my body is in working order (despite the cramps, bloating, and PMS that awaits me – lol). Time to break out the Always products, the Motrin, and the dumbest slogan I’ve ever heard: “Have a happy period.”

 

 

Posted on March 9, 2011, in The Rattle: Everything Baby, The Woman: All about me. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Haha… I’m not sure if there is a such thing as a happy period, so yea… I don’t like that saying either. Thank goodness you’re not preggo! I’m not against pregnancy or you being a Mother (again). Pregnancy is great… when you’re ready. LOL. Glad to know your cycle is back to normal.

  2. Lol, I thought I was the only one that thought “having a happy period” was stupid!

  3. @Alicia…exactly! I’m sooo no ready yet! LOL Do you want more kids one day?

    @Jennice…I know, right?! What were they thinking? lol

Leave a Reply

