A Yeyo’s Letter: It’s so hard to say goodbye

My thoughts before and after my first day back at work:

The night before…

Well C.C., the time has come. Mommy has been home with you taking care of you every day since the minute you were born (along with daddy), but now I have to go back to work. I miss you so much already! So much as happened over the last few months and I’ve got every memory ingrained in my mind and on my heart. We’ve had such great experiences together already, like going to the supermarket, going to the park, and visiting family. So many people stop and tell me how beautiful you are and what a good baby you are. You’re alert and attentive and quiet! Well, except for when you’re hungry (smile).

I’m going to miss spending the whole day with you, watching you play, smile, and grow. As soon as I get off work each day I’ll race home to see you and give you lots of hugs and cuddles! I know you and your dad will have a great time together. He’s planning to take you out for walks and be your #1 Buddy – and I know he will. He’s going to take excellent care of you. Better than anyone else ever could. He might get a little impatient with you from time to time, but that’s okay…he’s just learning you just like I have had to do and am still doing.

Continue to be the good girl that you are and remember how much I love you and am thinking about you while I’m away at work.  You have made my life a million times better than I ever thought it could be, and I can’t wait to experience so much more with you!

With all my love,

Mommy

The night after…

What a day it has been! I woke up at what felt like the crack of dawn and now the day is over and I’m so tired. It was so hard to say goodbye to you this morning. You woke up extra early and stayed awake – as if you knew that I’d be gone for lots and lots of hours. I got to kiss you goodbye and stare into those beautiful eyes before I walked out the door. I pretty much held it together until your dad came and gave me a big hug. I teared up at that moment because I knew how much I’d miss you both.

My work day was really good, though. All of my work friends were very happy to see me back and it made me feel good to know that I was missed. I spent the whole day talking about you and showing everyone your pictures. They think you’re pretty awesome! It was a long day…but a good one. And now coming home to see you has made this day complete. I’ve got to get some rest and prepare my mind and heart to do it all over again tomorrow!

Hugs & Kisses,

Mommy

Posted on March 15, 2011, in A Yeyo's Letter. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Awww! This is the day I’m dreading the most! Seems like you handled it well though. I think I’m going to be a big mess

  2. Now that the week is almost over, I can definitely say that I’ll appreciate the weekends that much more – just to be able to see, hold, kiss, and play with her when I want!

  3. Heather Gilmore

    Amber,
    I’m sure that you have had a tough time back at work, missing your precious little one and husband. I just wanted to tell you that your words are so inspirational. You know me, the great Auntie, but seriously girl, you simply amaze me at all that you do and accomplish.

    Both your hubby and your beautiful baby girl are lucky to have you and I’m blessed that we are friends.

    Just waned to send you a special note!
    H

Leave a Reply

