Happy Pregger-versary to Me!

On this day, exactly one year ago…I found out that my life as I knew it would be forever changed! I peed on a stick and ta-da: pregnant! Here’s how it all went down…I remember it like it was yesterday.

I took the test at work and remember standing in that bathroom stall for what seemed like forever because I was so stunned – almost frozen. Unable to focus, think, or concentrate on work, without saying a word I walked into my boss’ office and closed the door behind me. Then I blurted out, “I need to go home. Now!”  It was around 10:00am. He looked at me with this strange look and said, “Are you okay?”  Without thinking I just said, “I’m pregnant.” Not knowing what to do or say for a moment because I guess my face was still frozen from surprise, he said, “Okkaaayyyy….um, is that a good thing?” I snapped out of it and answered, “Yes, yes, of course!!!!!! I need to go home and tell my husband!” He said, “Well get out of here and go tell him!” *bestbossever*

I raced home to find that my husband wasn’t there. So I just sat on the couch and waited. I tried to think of all of these cute ways to tell him this big news, but nothing came to me right away. So I continued to sit. Then I couldn’t take it anymore and called him to see what he was up to (I didn’t tell him I was at home). He said he was out and about and would be back home in about 20 minutes. Perfect!

He finally walked through the door and immediately asked me what was I doing home.

Me: “My boss let me go home early because it turns out today is a holiday!”

Him: “It is? Is it some campus holiday or something?”

Me: “No…it’s something else.”

Him: “Okay, what?”

Me: “It’s congratulations-you’re-gonna-be-a-dad-day!”

Him: Long pause. Blank stare. And then…”I am?”

Me: “Yes you are!!! We’re having a baby!!!”

I showed him the pregnancy test, then we hugged and cried – then hugged and cried some more. It was such a special moment.

Here we are now, a year later with a beautiful baby girl with whom I am deliriously in love. I finally have a family of my own and life couldn’t be sweeter!

Yes, this is THE actual pregnancy test I took! *mylittlesouvenir*

What about you? Do you remember the day you found out you were pregnant? What was that day like?

Posted on March 22, 2011, in The Rattle: Everything Baby. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I do remember the day I found out I was pregnant. I Was a senior in high school and it was the day of the senior breakfast. I was with my three best friends at Ihop when I decided to get latest. The test was $3 and I really didn’t think it would be accurate. I took it to my bestie’s house and had her help me take it because I had never taken one and she had taken quite a few. The test said it would take a minute but it took like 5 seconds. My friend looked at it and started laughing her butt off. I was so stunned that it was positive, I couldn’t speak for at least 20 minutes. Once realty hit me, I was scared to death but determined to do what I had to do what I Had to do to prepare for the coming of my baby. Three years later, we’re still going strong.

  2. Awww how sweet. It’s great that you remember that day so vividly! A blessing indeed.

  3. I found out I was pregnant July 6, 2009. I suspected I was however. We went on a white water rafting trip the weekend before and I was a bundle of nerves!! I had NEVER been late in my life and this was the first time. I took the test before work, showed my husband and we also hugged and cried. My baby actually ended up coming 7 weeks early, but he is great. 14 months old and busy!

    • Hi Valencia! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. It’s so funny because we also went away on a weekend trip and I took the test that Monday when I got to work. I’ll always look at the pictures from that trip and smile because I was pregnant and didn’t know! It’s crazy how sometimes you just ‘know.’

  4. It was Saturday, March 6, 2010 around noon! We were out running errands and I told my husband I thought I was pregnant. *We had been charting and planning and waiting for a missed cycle.* Waiting for the missed cycle was driving me crazy. We bought a test on the way home and sure enough we were pregnant. After the shock wore off, we went back and bought a digital test to confirm!

Leave a Reply

