A Medical Moment on Health Issues that Affect Black Women

I was talking with my sister about my delivery experience in December when I had the baby. We talked about what I packed in my hospital bag, who she wanted in the delivery room, all sorts of stuff! (I love that she and I will have motherhood in common now…by the way. I love you, sister!)

The conversation got me thinking about how when you become a mom, you can all of a sudden become – not so much an expert, but a resource to other new or expecting moms. In the spirit of that thought, I want so share two very interesting articles with the TYD community (particularly, African American women).

The first is an article on fibroids. There’s not one Black woman I know that doesn’t know another Black woman that has or has had fibroids and that’s IF she hasn’t had them herself. I actually found this article last year after sharing the story of my friend, Ajah, whom I featured as a Yeyo of the Week back in December. She was pregnant and her doctor told her she could miscarry as a result of the uterine fibroids she had – and recommended that she terminate the pregnancy. I’m happy to report that Ajah gave birth to a beautiful baby girl last Thursday! Praise God!

Fibroids are a very serious medical condition and I encourage all of you to read Ajah’s story as well as the article listed below. It breaks everything down to what fibroids are, what the symptoms are, and how maintaining a healthy lifestyle can prevent them.

What Every Black Woman Should Know about Fibroid Tumors

Next is an article about the rise of cesarean sections among Black women. I’ve written here before about how scared I was of having one when I was pregnant. I did all I could – walking, eating (fairly) well, and the like to do my part to avoid having a c-section. As life would have it though, I ended up having one anyway. Although I recovered fine, and my daughter was born healthy, I still think modern medicine/doctors has a highly intrusive way of handling births. It’s like they set you up from the moment you walk into the hospital toward having a c-section because it’s what’s quickest and easiest for them.

I think it’s important for every woman to educate herself on what giving birth can actually look like, whether vaginally or by c-section, so when your time comes, either way you’ll be prepared. This article offers up alarming facts, such as Black women having c-sections more than any other group in 2008.  Now, I’m not saying that I had a c-section because I’m Black. No matter what race or background you are, you don’t know how you’re going to give birth until the moment actually comes. My goal with this post is to promote awareness about issues that directly affect Black women and their bodies.

C-Sections on the Rise, Especially for Black Moms

Please take the time read the info and share it!

TPOG

Posted on April 25, 2011, in The Woman: All about me. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Amber…I so appreciate this blog feature. Many women, in particular black women don’t understand what fibroid tumors are and how best to treat them. Sharing my story on your blog was an honor and it is my hope that it helped educate and give hope to women who suffer from fibroids.

    Well, as a conclusion to my blog feature, I am happy to report that I had a great ending to a very rough pregnancy. By the middle of my second trimester, the pain from the fibroids subsided and the remainder of my pregnancy was PAIN FREE! I was able to resume my daily activity and most of all, enjoy and appreciate the blessing that was growing inside of me.

    The fibroid that was blocking my cervix and preventing the chance of a vaginal delivery moved to the right, clearing the path for the baby…can we say nothing but God! In addition, my doctor was warning me about the pain returning during delivery and experiencing a lot of bleeding. He even had pints of blood ordered just in case.

    Well, I am happy to report that I did not need the pints of blood, nor did I experience any additional pain. I was able to deliver my baby girl vaginally and naturally with no meds…God is so Good!!!

    • Thank you for updating us, Ajah and again for sharing your story with the TYD community! You’re such an inspiration and an example of what faith can do! Congrats again on the safe, happy, and healthy arrival of your little one!

  2. I remember how much I feared being forced into a c-section or a bunch of drugs, too. In the end, I ended up delivering vaginally, but had Pitocin because the doctors and nurses insisted on it, and I still regret giving in to that. Doctors are so quick to tell you that you need _______ because the labor isn’t progressing the way THEY think it should, and it’s no wonder so many women end up having unwanted c-sections and/or drugs.

    • Amen, girl! For the most part, that’s what happened to me. I had to grieve over my birth experience for a while because I really wanted to have her vaginally. In the end, I’m just glad that she’s healthy and so am I. I still think that modern medicine is so unnecessarily intrusive!

Leave a Reply

