A Yeyo’s Letter:What Mother’s Day Means to Me

To my sweet little Chocolate Chip,

Today was a special day for me, because of you. I take that back…every day is special day for me because of you, but today was extra-extra special because it was Mother’s Day! Mother’s Day is a day set aside where we celebrate and thank our mommies for being so good to us. Mommies have big jobs – starting with pregnancy, then giving birth, then raising a child. They do all of this while doing other things like working (at home or outside the home, like I do) or going to school full time. It’s a lot of work, but seeing you happy makes it worth it.

A quick fashion pose before we head out for church.

I received so many lovely messages today from our friends and family that wanted to wish me a happy Mother’s Day because it was my very first one! Some people you know and have met, others you haven’t yet…but you will someday. The outpouring of love made me feel so good on the inside. Of course, Daddy and Nana did all they could to make this day a great one for me as well.

Happy First Mother's Day to Me!

Daddy bought me flowers with a thoughtful gift and Nana took me shopping (yes, again…she can’t help it! We love to shop – and you will too, trust me!). We spent a quiet afternoon at home and I don’t think I could have asked for anything more. Even though I received a lot of attention today, none of it would have been possible if it weren’t for you. I’m still so humbled that God thought enough of me to choose me to be your mommy. Your presence in my life has given me an overwhelming sense of purpose and daily you teach me so much about love. Just the other day I shed a quick tear as we played together because your smile and laugh pumped my heart with so much joy, I had to cry to let it out.

Your daddy is such a sweet and thoughtful man.

I love you so much, daughter. I pray that you’ll always find me worthy enough to be honored on Mother’s Day; simply because of the job I’m doing in raising you. This, more than anything – is what Mother’s Day means to me. And please know that no gift will ever compare to the one I have in you.

You are my joy...

Love Always,

Mommy

Posted on May 9, 2011, in A Yeyo's Letter. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This was so precious Am! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. Your baby girl is the sweetest most adorable baby EVA! Yes I mean EVA! Can’t wait to see you two again.

  2. so sweet! That baby girl of yours is beautiful and blessed to have a mommy like you!

Leave a Reply

