Love, Life, and the Little Things…



I’m feeling good today. I took this picture this morning when I got to work because I wanted to capture what ‘feeling good’ looks like. Better yet, what having joy looks like.

You know how sometimes, even though you know God is with you…you can’t exactly feel Him? Well, today isn’t one of those days for me. I feel His hand on me and His presence in my life is evident. Not by some grandiose act or miracle, or door opened, or prayer answered…it’s just that I see and appreciate Him in the little things. I’m grateful for my life, for my husband, my daughter, our family and friends. I have a warm bed to sleep in at night in a home that’s full of love. There’s food in the fridge and I have a car to drive that runs fairly well and is PAID for. What more can a girl ask for?

I also took the picture because I wanted to document some personal progress I’ve been making (not for you to see, but as a note to myself!). I’ve been working hard at slimming down and rewarding my body for the hard work it endured to give birth to my daughter by eating better and getting some physical activity in. It’s a slow process, but I’m okay with that. So the big deal about the photo was that the shirt that I’m wearing, I was able to button ALL the way up (past my boobs, which, on any day – is a big deal)! The buttons aren’t screaming for relief and it doesn’t feel tight like it once did…as recently as its last trip to the dry cleaners about a month ago. LOL

So yeah, today is good day. In the sweet words of Miss India Arie, “it’s the little things and the joy they bring…”

Make your day incredible!

Posted on May 24, 2011, in I Dedicate, The Woman: All about me. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Love this. We are so often preoccupied with our complaints that we miss the little things that truly show God’s hand on us.

  2. Great post. Kudos on the personal progress. And you’re right, it is the little things that make life worth living and bring us joy. If only we could always remember that.

  3. Awesome post. Congrats on your weight loss!

  4. Thanks, ladies! I totally agree with all of you! What’s that saying? Each day is a gift, that’s why it’s called the present. 🙂

  5. Amen! Continue to have a blessed day!

  6. This post made my heart warm! I love that you find happiness in the little things Am. God.Is.Good!

  7. Aww, congrats to you – on both the feeling good and the looking good. 😉

  8. I loved this post. You reminded me that it is about the little things & to stay appreciative of what I have. By the way, it does feels good to have Joy!

  9. Congrats on feeling good and looking great! I’m starting the quest on the great slim down. I’m taking things day by day and reveling over each milestone 🙂

  10. Reading that made me all warm and fuzzy. I agree with every word. When I stop to count my blessings – gurrrll. I lose track every time. That’s just how GOOD God is. But you know that already. 🙂

Leave a Reply

