Romance Wednesday: Missing You

Today’s thought of the day is the saying, “Absence makes the heart grow fonder.”

In just a few hours I’ll be boarding a plane that will take me back from what has been my longest time away from my husband, ever. I’ve been in Texas helping my sister with the arrival of my new niece! It has been a huge emotional sacrifice for me – being away this long, especially because I came alone without him orC.C. I cried for the first three days! My heart was aching, but it has been a blessing to be here nonetheless.

I think time away can be good for a marriage. Ever so often you need time to ‘miss’ each other. With marriage it’s so easy to get overly comfortable with our spouses…almost too comfortable. It’s good every now and then to take a break from the daily ins-and-outs of life and have a moment to look at your life from the outside. Hopefully doing so will help put things into perspective about what you appreciate about your spouse and the life you have together.

For me, I’ve missed him asking me how my day was when I got home, shutting my computer down for me when I’ve fallen asleep with it (again) in my lap, watching him love and care for our baby girl…there are so many things! I can’t wait to step off that plane and into his arms, and finally be home again.

Posted on June 29, 2011, in Romance Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I can only imagine how much you are missing him and the baby. When my husband and I were dating, he lived in NYC and I live in Charlotte. Though we were not fond of the distance, we worked through it. Since we’ve been married, the longest we have been away from each other is about 4days. I do believe distance from each other is good. I think it makes you appreciate each other more. Have a safe trip. I know you will be welcomed home with open arms!

  2. I make it a priority to get out and go visit for my family for at least three days. It helps to allow us both to do our own thing without getting on each other’s nerves.

  3. I’ve been away from the hubby for some time this month and that’s been real difficult. But the distance definitely confirmed how much I need him in my life! Happy reunion with the family!

Leave a Reply

