Romance Wednesday: Can you hold me now?

There’s a song by Kirk Franklin entitled, “Hold Me Now,” that truly summarizes a lot of what I’ve been feeling lately. In some ways, I’ve been feeling beat down by life, in desperate need of a reprieve. A break. A change. Something.

I usually try my best not to let my emotions get the best of me, but the other night I succumbed to the stress I’ve been feeling about some things. I was overpowered by an intense flood of emotion and cried one of those agonizing-but-cleansing-wondering-when-will-it-get-better cries. I hadn’t done this in a long time.

Looking at me with a sense of helplessness, all my husband could do was hold me in his arms. He grabbed me by the hand, prayed over me, and kissed me goodnight. And at that precise moment, that’s exactly what I needed.

What I love about this instance was not the romantic element of it (there’s nothing pretty about the ugly cry…that’s why it’s called the ugly cry!). It was the fact that although he may not have had the right words, he did what he could within his power – in that moment, to make me feel better. There’s nothing greater than knowing, seeing, and feeling that your spouse is there for you when you need them the most.

Thank you, my dear husband, for literally…holding me up and holding me down.

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Romance Wednesday, The Ring: Marriage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. very sweet post. that kirk franklin song gets me every time. hope you feeling much better now. πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you, Cam! Yes, I am doing much better. πŸ˜‰

  3. So beautiful, Amber. πŸ™‚

  4. Very thoughtful post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

