What Every Retailer can Learn from IKEA

I’ve griped before about how annoying it is when I’m out and about with C.C. and I have to wait for the disability stall in the bathroom or a fitting room. It’s like the retailers or establishments are saying that as moms (or dads) you’re at a disadvantage because you have children. Gee, thanks, guys!

Enter the fabulousness that is IKEA. If you shop at IKEA then you already know how magical of a place it is. Who knew shopping for random household items could be such fun?! They always have the perfect baskets, lamps, chairs, and rugs! There are all sorts of other little do-hickeys in that store that will cause you to loose all track of time if you go in there without a strategic plan. I had one such day there recently, but this trip elevated my ‘like’ of IKEA to a ‘love’ of IKEA.

You see friends, the folks at IKEA totally got it right when it comes to the mommy-and-me bathroom situation. I was so impressed when I walked into this bathroom that I had to whip out my camera and document the moment! I’ll let the pictures explain:

Umm, hel-lo! Can you say, me gusta?!

Something for everybody!

No, I do not, but thanks for asking!

Ok, really...you are far too kind!

Maybe you just need to take a quick break. Well, don't mind if I do!

The kiddies may need some chill time, too. There's a chair for that!

See what I mean??!! So cool, right?! The space was well stocked, clean, and didn’t smell like funk warmed over.

For someone without kids, this may be no big deal. But for me, I’m super appreciative that they thought about it. It’s the little things in life that make me happy.

Posted on July 25, 2011, in The Rattle: Everything Baby and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. That is pretty awesome and I have no kids. That’s proper experience marketing right there.

  2. IKEA is totally on point with this. Love the free diaper idea too. Hope other stores are taking notes.

  3. They definitely make a Dadgineer’s day MUCH easier when we’re toting the kids around in that maze of a place.

  4. Makes me happy as a new mom!

  5. Yes, yes, yes! I agree with all of you! They really went all out with this one!

  6. I LOVE Ikea!!! This makes me so happy!

Leave a Reply

