Growing our Love Tree: Five Years and Counting

Dear Husband,

Today marks the fifth year of us living in holy matrimony. Did you know that wood is the traditional wedding anniversary gift for the fifth wedding anniversary? No? Ok, good because I didn’t either! I actually find it quite appropriate though, and here’s why.

When I think of wood I think of the trees it comes from. Images of strength and fortitude come to mind when I think of trees. In so many ways, I see us too. The seed was planted on 8/18/06 and the tree of our love has been growing ever since; resulting in the birth of our sweet little Chocolate Chip adding her own branch.

We have weathered some storms but remain rooted in our faith like a 100 year old oak. Some friendships and relationships have fallen to the wayside like old leaves, but as with the changing of seasons, we’ll grow new ones. I hope that we continue to give each other life, just as trees offer oxygen to the environment. And much like the way a nurtured tree bears fruit, I pray that our marriage will do the same, as a result of us tending to and cultivating it.

I love you immensely and trust that our tree of love will always grow tall and strong,  never to wither.

Forever yours,

Me

Source: Google Images

Posted on August 18, 2011, in The Ring: Marriage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Happy Anniversary Amber! Beautiful post. Trying to make me cry or something. 🙂

  2. Thank you, Cam! #handsyouatissue LOL

  3. Happy Anniversary Amber and Hubs!!!! Continued blessings to you both!!!

  4. Aww, that’s was a beautiful message to hubby! Happy happy anniversary to you guys! Wishing your union many more years of strength, love and happiness!

  5. Roses Daughter

    Aww! Beautiful! Happy Anniversary!

  6. Ok, so why do I want to make this pic my desk top screensaver? #notplaying

  7. At this moment I am going away to do my breakfast, once
    having my breakfast coming again to read more news.

  1. Pingback: Romance Wednesday: Our Anniversary Getaway to the California Desert « The YeYo Diaries

  2. Pingback: Romance Wednesday: Our Anniversary Getaway to the California Desert @ The YeYo Diaries

Leave a Reply

