Natural Hair and My Beautiful Brown Baby Girl

So much of who we are as Brown women and how we’re seen, is tied to our hair.  As moms we have so many things we want to teach our children, such as manners, the importance of an education, and respecting others. One thing I desire to teach my daughter is how to embrace and love her natural hair.

Right now, natural hair is an exciting topic among brown women everywhere.  The term natural is defined by most as hair that has not been chemically altered, but worn in its natural state.

I’ve been relaxer free for ten years, but a press-n-curl was my primary styling choice. I recently made the decision to embrace my natural curls and back away from the hot comb! I have had so much fun getting to know my hair! I love the versatility of being able to wear a bun, a puff, or twist out. The options are endless!

What I love most about being natural is this…I’ll be able to teach my baby girl how to love all of who she is, from the top of her head to the bottom of her cute little feet. She’s eight months old now and I love having her sit in the bathroom with me while I condition and twist my tresses. I want her to grow up seeing me wear my hair in a variety of different styles while, most importantly, taking care of my hair. I hope to teach her not only to care for her hair, but to love her whole self as a natural, beautiful, brown girl!

Let’s discuss!

How does hair play a role in your relationship with your children?

*Note: This post was originally ran on the lovely e-magazine, Beautiful Brown Girls that I’m a guest blogger for, on 8/24/11. Visit the site and show them some love!

Posted on September 8, 2011, in The Rattle: Everything Baby, The Woman: All about me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I’m currently three months natural and loving it I only wish i did this sooner, my biggest problem is having patience for growth and being a product junkie. I have a soon to be eight year old son and after many mo hawks, designer hair cuts he came to me with he wants to grow dreads. I talked to him about the steps in starting dreads and what’s to be expected and now he is close to three months in. I think what started the whole thing with wanting dreads is, seeing me chopping all my relaxed hair off and constantly talking about hair. He likes keeping his hair moisturize and washed not in that order but it seem to be bringing us even closer as a family.

    • Welcome to TYD! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. How exciting for you that hair has created a bond between you and your son! That’s a beautiful thing!

  2. Great post. Heading over to comment.

  3. I love that you have become so creative in your natural hair styles and also love and encourage you to teach lil miss ladybug the same-awesome idea. I also love and adore my relaxer, wrap and go is my motto! :o)

  4. I have a son, so I don’t know how much I will share with him about hair. Only time will tell. I went relaxer free for about 6 or 7 months, not because I wanted to….Life just sort of happened and I overlooked it. I am wearing my hair relaxed again, but the thought of natural hair is very interesting to me. I guess I really don’t know how to care for my hair in its natural state………
    I am likethe previous commenter…..wrap and go. lol

  5. And Auntie Bailey will teach her all about…weave and lace fronts! lol I love that shirt and the sesame street song! check it out! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=enpFde5rgmw

    xo

    • Hahaha! I know, right! You’ll have my baby walking around with tracks on her head, looking like Cousin It! Talkin’ about, “Mommy, look! Auntie Bailey said I was a diva!” LOL

  6. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

Leave a Reply

